Pakistan’s World Cup Journey in 2019 So far Has All Similarities to 1992- Will Pakistan Repeat 1992

June 30

Pakistan have emerged as serious semifinal contenders at the 2019 Cricket World Cup following an eerily identical run of results that mirror their triumphant 1992 campaign in Australia and New Zealand.

[metaslider id=1801]

Their six-wicket win over the Black Caps at Edgbaston on Wednesday (Thursday NZT) resumed the spooky comparisons between this year’s tournament in England and Wales to when Pakistan won their only World Cup title 27 years ago. They beat England by 22 runs in the final in Melbourne.

History repeated itself in Pakistan’s opening game against West Indies as, for the first time since 1992, the tournament returned to a format where each nation plays each other once before the top four contest the semifinals.

fans throughout the Kashmir valley are expectant that Pakistan that started as a weak side in the world cup and gained momentum with games, will pick up the world cup and repeat what Imran Khan did in 1992.

Although there were just nine teams in 1992 and not 10 like there are in 2019, Pakistan began both tournaments with heavy losses against West Indies (by 10 and seven wickets in 1992 and 2019 respectively).

Then, Pakistan’s results in their next six games in the group stages in 1992 and 2019 would be exactly the same, even continuing to follow the same method of result whether they won or lost, or if there was no result because of rain.

In their second games, Pakistan won batting first before successfully blunting the run chases of Zimbabwe in 1992 (winning by 53 runs) and England in 2019 (winning by 14 runs).

Their third games were both washed out because of rain, so there was no result against England in 1992 and Sri Lanka in 2019, but two defeats when batting second were to come next in each tournament.

In 1992, Pakistan lost by 43 and 20 runs against India and South Africa respectively. In 2019, Pakistan lost by 41 and 89 runs against Australia and India respectively.

With a record of one win, three losses and one no result, Pakistan then boosted their semifinal prospects with two consecutive victories, the first won by batting first and the second when batting second.

In their sixth and seventh games in 1992, Pakistan beat Australia by 48 runs before winning by four wickets against Sri Lanka.

In their sixth and seventh games in 2019, Pakistan beat South Africa by 49 runs before winning by six wickets against the Black Caps and then defeating Afghanistan by 2 wickets.

In 1992, Pakistan won their eighth game by seven wickets against the Black Caps in Christchurch and it’s likely their sequence of repeating history will continue as they next face winless Afghanistan in Leeds on Saturday.

Teams had only eight games in 1992 to qualify for the semifinals, while they have nine in 2019, and Pakistan finish this year’s group stage next Friday against Bangladesh at Lord’s, a contest that could effectively be like a quarterfinal should England have dropped out of the top four.

In fact, Pakistan would knock England out of the semifinal places should they beat Afghanistan, but the hosts and pre-tournament favourites would return there if they won against India at Edgbaston on Sunday.

Bangladesh first play India at Edgbaston next Tuesday before Pakistan. England’s final game is against New Zealand in Durham next Wednesday.

Whatever happens, Pakistan are right in the thick of the semifinal race after looking like a long shot after five games and the 2019 side is channelling the spirit of 1992, though captain Sarfaraz Ahmed has downplayed the comparisons.

“When the World Cup was starting, people were thinking like that,” he said after Pakistan beat the Black Caps in Birmingham.

“We’re not thinking about the 1992 World Cup, we’re going match by match and now our focus is our next match [against Afghanistan] and hopefully we will do well as a team.”

Pakistan famously won by four wickets against New Zealand in the 1992 Eden Park semifinal when a 22-year-old Inzamam-ul-Haq smashed a match-winning 60 off 37 balls.

The Pakistani batting great’s nephew, 23-year-old Imam-ul-Haq, is opening for Pakistan in 2019 but hasn’t yet set the world alight.


Pakistan at 1992 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand

Game one: LOST by 10 wickets v West Indies
Game two: WON by 53 runs v Zimbabwe
Game three: NO RESULT v England (washout)
Game four: LOST by 43 runs v India
Game five: LOST by 20 runs v South Africa
Game six : WON by 48 runs v Australia
Game seven: WON by four wickets v Sri Lanka
Game eight: WON by seven wickets v New Zealand
Semifinal: WON by four wickets v New Zealand
Final: WON by 22 runs v England

Pakistan at 2019 World Cup in England and Wales

Game one: LOST by seven wickets v West Indies
Game two: WON by 14 runs v England
Game three: NO RESULT v Sri Lanka (washout)
Game four: LOST by 41 runs v Australia
Game five: LOST by 89 runs v India
Game six: WON by 49 runs v South Africa
Game seven: WON by six wickets v New Zealand
Game eight: WON by two Wickets against Afghanistan
Game nine: Play Bangladesh next Friday
Possible semifinal: July 9 or 11